Baltic Coast- yup, we have beaches in the Tricity

„I know Poland has coastline, but “beach” is the last thing I think of when imagining the Baltic”

What better way to have your feathers ruffled (should you happen to live on that coastline) than to hear a statement like that? What? No beach? I’ll show them beach.

Leba sand dunes, Pomerania

Leba sand dunes, Pomerania

So after reading this conviction from someone I was corresponding with, I dug out my photo album (switched on, sorry, clicked on, my iphoto file) and scoured through it for the best photos I could find of the ‘beach’.

As I was rummaging through this file, I did wonder, I must admit :”what DO foreigners think of when they think of, say, Gdansk?” I then recalled what I thought before I first came here in the bleak mid 1980’s. And yes, I must admit that I had expected Gdansk to resemble my image of a place like, say, Hull in the UK. Industrial, dreary, grey. So I can’t blame people for thinking of Gdańsk as a rather bleak decrepit shipyard town with little to offer in the way of tourist attractions.

one of the diminishing number of buildings left in the famous shipyard

one of the diminishing number of buildings left in the famous shipyard

Hence, too, the surprise of the many Irish and Spanish football fans who flocked out this way in 2012 during the European Football Championships, many of whom returned the following summer, for the beach on this occasion.

Sopot beach before the crowds arrive

Sopot beach before the crowds arrive

autumn evening

autumn clouds

So, here’s a selection from my personal photo library. As someone who lives here, I try to avoid crowded beaches during the touristy season, which is why they look empty in most of these photos. Well, we may not experience anything like the war over beach towels between the Brits and the Germans on Spanish beaches, but we get our fair share of local and foreign visitors on our bit of the Baltic coast. And here’s why:

just me and my nordic walking poles

just me and my nordic walking poles

my nearest beach entrance

my nearest beach entrance

joie de vivre with my dad

joie de vivre with my dad

winter walking on ice

winter walking on ice

 

a lone swan

a lone swan

010

011

Sheraton and Grand Hotels side by side in Sopot

Sheraton and Grand Hotels side by side in Sopot

it gets cold

it gets cold

but not cold enough to frighten off the kayakers

but not cold enough to frighten off the kayakers

...or the swans

…or the swans

and a night shot (taken by Jerzy Witek):

Gdansk bay at night by Jerzy Witek

To see more of Gdansk, click here and here

3 Comments

Filed under Gdansk, Poland

3 responses to “Baltic Coast- yup, we have beaches in the Tricity

  1. cfp

    Glad to offer occasion to dust off the ol’ keyboard and (iPhoto) album. What lovely shots, such variety in colors.

    Would doubling-down on my skepticism of the Baltic coast’s leisure potential result in a personal invitation to witness with my own eyes the error of my notions?

    Because if so, I’m sure I could come up with many more preconceptions about Gdansk I need to be proven wrong about…

  2. Well, I am a couchsurfer, so who knows, if you can track us down there… 🙂

    I see that Boston also has some attractive beaches, though I don’t know how close they are to the city. In Gdansk, it takes me 20 minutes to cycle from my home to my local beach.

  3. ania Regan Olsen

    Really enjoyed the read ! just what I needed : a breath of fresh air and ‘the big Blue’. Beautiful photos

Leave a Reply

