Eschewing Obfuscation

keep it streamlined        the Baltic

keep it streamlined the Baltic

I am using the phrase ‚eschew obfuscation‘ to describe pictures which tell a story, without words.

Or with as few words as are needed. In some case none.

harmony Bagan

harmony

I came across the phrase when looking for materials to use with my students when teaching them how to write in English in a clear and simple manner. Avoid obtuse words (like that one).

infinity   Namibia

infinity Namibia

I then thought I could apply it to photos I’ve taken, to photos which don’t need much clarification and tell a story in themselves.

Sometimes it’s a memory, sometimes a look, a smell, a sense. It’s personal.

resignation  Irrawady river, Burma

resignation

I’ve chosen the ones which meant something to me when I took them.

To each his own. Here is a sample

bliss  Namibia

bliss Namibia

lighting ...

lighting …

... a cheroot

… a cheroot, Burma

bucolic Bagan

bucolic Bagan

hideaway, Klein Aus Vista, Namibia

hideaway, Klein Aus Vista, Namibia

demure, Inwa, Burma

demure, Inwa, Burma

chiling out, Yangon, Burma

chiling out, Yangon, Burma

surreal, Klein Aus Vista, Namibia

surreal, Klein Aus Vista, Namibia

While thinking about this post, I came across this link from the Economist which covers a similar theme:
[http://moreintelligentlife.com/blog/pictures-worth-75000-words]

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Burma, Namibia

Leave a Reply

