Strawberry and Rhubarb Crumble

On the odd occasion when I feel like drooling over something particularly healthy to eat with the remote possibility of trying to make it, I take a peep at this food blog.

Today, when I decided that Heidi’s zucchini and fennel salad would prove just too virtuous for Mirek, I turned to her dessert page and my click landed here:

Strawberry & rhubarb crumble recipe

and I went a step further and made it.

In fact, my version is pretty similar to the original, except that instead of pine nuts, I used sunflower seeds which I happened to have at home; I used less of the Muscovado sugar than Heidi used in her filling but added a small spoon of black treacle, and instead of port wine, I used sherry which I had close at hand.

my crumble ingredients

my crumble ingredients

crumble patties

crumble patties

fruit filling

fruit filling

It’s just rested from coming out of the oven and it is delicious, with a hint of tartness from the rhubarb which I love combined with the sweetness of the sherry and black treacle flavoured strawberries.

This is what you need to make the amount I made, slighter less than Heidi’s version:

60 g spelt flour
30 g sunflower seeds
60g rolled oats
50 g Muscovado sugar
¼ spoon salt
¼ spoon freshly ground black pepper
70 g soft butter

for the filling:
spoon of cornflour
40g Muscovado sugar
500 g hulled strawberries, halved
2 long sticks of rhubarb, trimmed and sliced into small chunks
one vodka glass of sherry

Heat oven to 190c

Mix the flour, sunflower seeds and oats with the other crumble ingredients and form into little patties, cover and allow to stiffen slightly in the freezer for about ten mins.

Meanwhile, mix the filling ingredients together and add the sherry and place it into an ovenproof dish.

Crumble the mixture from the freezer over the fruit, leaving some lumps and transfer to the oven. I covered it with aluminium foil for the first 15 mins, and then after removing the foil, left it to bake for another 20 mins until the mixture was golden and bubbly.

crumble ready to go into the oven

crumble ready to go into the oven

golden and bubbly crumble

golden and bubbly crumble

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

