Pumpkin soup with a bit of zest

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On one of the colder autumn days we have recently been experiencing, it was nice to come home to this soup I had made the day before. I often find soups taste better the following day. I simply chopped the pumpkin and added it to the onions and chopped carrots I had been frying for a few minutes with a pinch of Indian cumin powder.

I let this fry for a few minutes and then added a litre of water and the red lentils and allowed it to simmer on a low heat for about half an hour. After leaving it to cool awhile I added the grated and finely chopped (my grater has large holes) zest of half an orange and the juice of the whole orange- more zest would have made the orange flavour overpowering. I then put the soup in a blender and mixed it. Later I added a bit more water and some freshly ground salt and pepper. I sometimes add nutmeg at this stage but in this case I didn’t want to interfere with the flavours of the orange. Pumpkin can be a tad bland in taste, so the orange does give it a bit of a welcome tang. You can serve it with croutons (I used Polish rye bread) or dry-fried pumpkin or sunflower seeds. Very soothing on an autumn afternoon. Personally I never add cream to pumpkin soup as I find it adds a blandness which is not called for and thickens it unnecessarily.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 kilo pumpkin (before removing skin)
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 2 smallish onions
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 orange
  • freshly ground salt and pepper
  • 1 litre water (or veg stock)
  • pinch of cumin powder (optional)
2 Comments

Filed under Food, Poland

2 responses to “Pumpkin soup with a bit of zest

  1. ania Regan Olsen

    Looks really delicious and nice to come home to on a miserably cold and wet day. Do you soak the lentils you add, beforehand, if if so for how long ??? Must try it out on the family

  2. No, red lentils don’t need to be soaked and they cook very fast, about 15 mins:)

Leave a Reply

