Irish and Spaniards having a ball, together, in Gdansk

Irish and Spanish fans singing together in Gdansk

Irish and Spanish fans singing together in Gdansk

mixed fan zone

mixed fan zone

I cycled into Gdansk today under a very overcast sky not expecting to see too much action in the streets in this foreboding weather, but I heard them before I could see them. What’s more, they were singing together, the Irish and the Spaniards, and I am still not too sure what language they were singing in, though it certainly wasn’t Polish. Never mind that, they were having fun and those of us who live in Gdansk were more than happy to be able to experience this atmosphere.

Here are a few pictures of the scenes I saw today. I expect it will get hotter as the day goes by, in spirit at least. Personally I plan to go and watch the match tonight in our nearest bar, which just happens to be the Spanish tapas bar I reviewed in my recent Gdansk restaurants post. It might feel a bit like walking into the lion’s den, but I’ll get my husband to wear some Spanish colours and I’ll make sure the flag I paint on myself is not quite as prominent as this one I wore the other day as we cycled to Sopot.

Irish flag daubed on my neck

Irish flag daubed on my neck

a corrida?

a corrida in the main street of Gdansk?

Spaniards enjoying themselves

Spaniards enjoying themselves

an Irish father and son

an Irish father and son

at last, a full Irish flag

at last, a full Irish flag

I must say there were more Spaniards around than Irish, but then maybe the bulk of the Irish were in Sopot, where a friend of mine told me he saw them skinny dipping, while drinking, in the Baltic this morning not long after dawn!

I also saw a number of people selling tickets, the price I heard was a thousand euro for four tickets but that was probably negotiable…

Ah well, I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed watching the match while sipping some cerveza and snacking on patatas bravas!

3 Comments

Filed under Gdansk, Poland

3 responses to “Irish and Spaniards having a ball, together, in Gdansk

  1. ania Regan Olsen

    Pia you and Mirek going to the Spanish tapas bar tonight reminds me of that scene in ‘Pain et Chocolat’. Do you remember the scene in the bar, with the Switzerland (Germany ?) Italy football match !!!
    Where on earth are you going to paint the Irish flag tonight, lol !!!
    Enjoy

  2. Pingback: Baltic Coast- yup, we have beaches in the Tricity | piaregan

Leave a Reply

