Eton Mess – decadent version

Eton Mess

Eton Mess

With strawberries appearing in galore in every local vegetable stand, this is the perfect time for something like Eton Mess.
I say ‚something like‘, because the version I made recently was pretty much of a decadent -something like-

Mirek’s aunt, a distant relative who I was meeting for the first time, rang to say she was in Sopot and could she drop by. Knowing she had a sweet tooth, I had to think of what to make.

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth myself, in fact I’m not very sweet by nature. More the sharp tongue variety, or so my mother would say… which is perhaps why savouries are my weak point rather than cakes.

But, on this occasion, I recalled the Eton mess recipe, very simple, meringues, strawberries and double cream, all blended or whizzed together to produce this ‚mess‘ which is apparently served at the famous British public school, Eton College, come the month of June.

Why stop at that, I thought. I felt Mirek’s aunt deserved something more and so came out my creative streak as I bought some delicious dark oatmeal biscuits from the local patisserie as well as their delightfully light meringues and set to work. Once I had all the ingredients, the actual making of this decadent ‚mess‘ took very little time. Here is the recipe:

getting ingredients crushed and blended

getting ingredients crushed and blended

adding mascarpone

adding mascarpone

mascarpone

mascarpone mixed with oatmeal cookies

and about one thousand calories on one cup:)

…and about one thousand calories in one cup:)

(for 4 people)

-1 kilo strawberries (culled)
-about 15 small meringues
-small carton of double cream
-tub of mascarpone cheese
-4 large oatmeal biscuits
- some mints leaves for decoration (which you can’t see on my photos)

First, blend the meringues so they are crushed like coarse breadcrumbs. Remove from machine. Do the same with the oatmeal biscuits.

Then whizz the strawberries together and put aside.

Take the double cream and whip it once you’ve changed attachment in machine.

Combine half the blended strawberries with the crushed meringues and add them to the cream and whizz for a few seconds to mix well and put aside.

Mix the mascarpone cheese with the crushed oatmeal biscuits and spoon it into four dessert bowls.

Add a layer of the mixed strawberries on top of the mascarpone mixture in the dessert bowls and then add a layer of the strawberries/cream/meringue mixture and top it off with a meringue and a leaf of mint. And that’s it.

I didn’t add any sugar to the dessert because the meringues were sweet enough themselves. The dessert was both light and delicious as well as being rich and creamy.

And as for Mirek’s aunt, I think she found me quite sweet☺

PS: of course, if I wanted to be a tad more decadent, I could have added a capful.. or two .. of Baileys Original Irish Cream to the marscarpone mixture. I’ll leave that for the next time the aunt visits.

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Eton Mess – decadent version

  1. ania Regan Olsen

    Yummy not only is it more simple to make than I would have expected by it looks so nice, and to hell with all those calories !!! One must be an Eton devil from time to time !!!!!

  2. ania Regan Olsen

    I meant ‘BUT it looks nice !!!

  3. It IS delicious AND fast enough to make! :)

Leave a Reply

